Important national news – join the Animal Justice Party

A new federal political party has been created by a group of concerned animal advocates who believe enough is not being done for Australian animals. The desire is to build a  balance to counter those forces with vested interests and who misuse animals as a profit motive. This is the announcement we received:

 “Announcement!

 The Animal Justice Party is happy to announce the next stage in working toward being a voice for the animals in the political arena.

 We need your support.

The charter is now up on the AJP website and we hope this will make you as excited as we are in moving ahead as a political force.

This charter will form the basis for a range of policy papers that will be progressively released over coming months”.

http://www.animaljusticeparty.org/Welcome.html

 Please join us by becoming a member of the Animal Justice Party.  All you have to do is print out the attached form or down load from our website. 

 Please send to: Animal Justice Party, P.O. Box 3126, Blakehurst 2221., NSW

 Don’t wait for tomorrow do it now!

Every second you wait an animal is suffering and dying.  If we work together we can be their voice.”

 “First they ignore you, then they laugh at
you, then they fight you, then you win”
Mahatma Ghandi

 “The Animal Justice Party has been formed as a response to growing public concern about the neglect of animals and animal protection issues by political parties. It will give a voice to those who cannot speak for themselves. It will provide a focal point for voters frustrated by the lack of political action and who feel strongly that much more needs to be done through our parliamentary systems to assist the wellbeing of animals. To read the Charter of the AJP, click here….

 Actions you can take:  We are supporting this exciting initiative wholeheartedly. Please join this new party to help get the campaign off the ground. It costs nothing and you can make a huge impact by being a member. Let’s all work together to ensure a happy and successful birth!

Download the federal party application form here (it is essential that you complete the form fully and accurately). Make sure you post it to the AJP PO Box, and NOT the Electoral Office. If you go to the website, DO NOT use the NSW form, only the Federal form.

Who are the AJP? We were told:

“”For the past few months we have had a steering committee in place to put in place the necessary infrastructure to establish a new political party that would represent animals (the voiceless) in our parliamentary system.  The tasks of this committee are to draft a charter, construct a web site and logo, draft a constitution, establish a membership data base, begin the formulation of policy and discussion papers, form an association, and register the Party with the Australian Electoral Commission.  We are now a long way to achieving these foundation goals.  The people participating in the Steering Committee are from a mix of backgrounds to do with the well being of animals.  All have very high ethical standards, many years of experience, and are deeply committed to the task.  Once established over the coming months it is likely all AJP members will have the opportunity to be actively involved either in the Party’s management, in contributing to policy development and a host of other necessary tasks.”

11 thoughts on “Important national news – join the Animal Justice Party

  1. Karen McMillan March 15, 2010 / 8:37 pm

    Great News.
    I’m not one to start something but I am one to get involved.
    I have waited a long time for this.
    Congratulations!

  2. Wendy Dodimead March 17, 2010 / 3:33 pm

    Hi, This is great news. I too was thinking of forming a political party but had no idea how to start…so well done. Will you have promotional information leaflets we can put in our local vets to get the word out…………..and some pet shops that do not sell animals. If I can be of any help operating from home please let me know. I will be joining as soon as I can download your form.

    Keep up the good work – Target 0%

  3. Michelle March 18, 2010 / 11:17 pm

    Hi there,

    I’m confused ….. I am not clear how to ‘join the animal justice party’ ??? I thought I would be subscribing to join this animal activist group?? however, I was directed via website only to a link to ‘leave a comment’.

    Could someone please explain / advise …
    thanks
    Michelle

  4. Wendy Dodimead March 19, 2010 / 12:20 am

    Hi Michelle,
    Just go above the comments section and you will find the URL for the Animal Justice Party….. click on it and will take you to AJP site and will direct you to the application form.

    Cheers

  5. Leanne Day March 19, 2010 / 9:12 am

    Thank you for inviting me to this cause. I have a dog myself called Megs and would luv to have many more but we live in Sydney in a rental unit with a yard small and if we had to move is is very hard I heard to get rental accomadation with an animal I heard. I am also happy to foster. But if there is anything I can do I will just let me know.

    Regards,

    Leanne and David.

  6. Carol Thompson March 19, 2010 / 9:40 am

    Thank you for the invitation to join this party, it is so good to see someone had the gumption to step up to the plate and act for animals, I am PROUD to be a part of this party….Carol

  7. Catherine Sweeney March 22, 2010 / 9:19 am

    This is fantastic. A society can be partly judged by the way it treats all it’s native animals. I think we are doing pretty appallingly at this. In Queensland in the Redlands area ( near Moreton Bay) the last remaining koala habitat has all but gone due to overclearing and dogs. Dog owners need to take more responsiblity to ensure their dog is securely fenced. Koalas are native to this country but they are dying out. THe redlands I think also has a ban on cats!
    Dogs and cats are decimating many australian native animals along with a host of other feral anmals foxes, pigs etc.
    But it all starts with human responsibility.
    I hope to see justice for the native animals as well, in tighter controls/ regulations of ownership of companion animals by humans. Owning a “pet” is a luxury not a “right”.
    Thanks.

  8. Terri March 22, 2010 / 12:31 pm

    Congratulations on forming the party. It is unfortunate that this has become necessary, but after the very disappointing defeat of Clover Moore’s bill in NSW parliament which would have banned the sale of pets in pet shops, something had to be done urgently.
    Mandatory desexing and tighter controls on breeding need to be a priority. Pet ownership and especially breeding should require a license, just like driving a vehicle.

  9. Helen Cowan March 22, 2010 / 8:37 pm

    Yes I agree with Terri, desexing should be mandatory, and a good idea to have a licence to own a pet.
    Microchipping was bought in for a few reasons, I thought one of these was to maybe stamp out some backyard breeding but who polices it? We still have dogs adv. not micr.in our local paper!!

  10. Raffaella April 30, 2010 / 12:53 pm

    While I am pleased to hear about the new party ( I will join), and I am well aware of the impact of dogs/cats over population and its consequences, I am in favour to desexing ( my pets are desexed), still sometime I find myself questioning mandatory desexing. It is hard for me to explain, I hope I won’t be misunderstood, but I thing reproduction is as natural to animals as it is to humans. Is the ‘ unscrupolous profiting/money making ‘ aspect of it that I strongly oppose.This, as we know, is done by us, humans. Similarly, humans are also over populating the world, posing all sorts of different actual and future problems. Call me crazy, but I am questioning if mandatory desexing will be soon proposed for some very poor, high risks areas. It would be discriminatory, I know….oh dear, I am so confused.

  11. Claire Hitchon July 23, 2010 / 5:17 pm

    Thank you so much for starting this party. I am very grateful to you for doing this, as no politicians/MPs ever take any notice of what we say when it concerns animal welfare. As a reply, they just send you a typical template letter, with the same old excuses. We must never give up and persist until laws are created to fight the last big injustice of unthinkable animal abuses. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

